IT Security Liaison

The Role of the Information Technology Security Liaison at Ohio State University

 

The OSU IT Security Policy specifies the requirement for establishing security representatives from colleges, units, and campuses.  The security representative, known as the IT Security Liaison, serves as the unit liaison with the Office of the Chief Information Officer (OCIO) Enterprise Security team for security related matters and focuses on managing the OSU IT Security Framework.

The role of IT Security Liaison offers units a voice in the creation of OSU’s security services and provides a single internal point of contact, allowing the OCIO Enterprise Security team and the individual units to create a more direct and integrated working relationship.

The OCIO Enterprise Security team is responsible for:

  • Conducting, reviewing, updating, and administering the IT security program
  • Developing and maintaining IT security guidelines, practices, standards, and policies to protect university data assets and mitigate fraud
  • Developing and maintaining IT security training and security standard compliance reporting
  • Providing an annual report on the IT security program effectiveness
  • Directing the creation of IT security instruments
  • Managing the OSU enterprise vulnerability management practice and associated compliance activities 

OSU colleges, units and campuses have designated IT Security Liaisons to serve on the Enterprise Security Committee, which is facilitated by the OCIO Enterprise Security team.  The IT Security Liaison:

  • Reviews internal processes, standards, guidelines, requirements, and practices
  • Updates internal control structures and standard operating procedures
  • Conducts annual reviews for security compliance
  • Provides IT security impact assessments and feedback
  • Identifies IT security training needs and completing training requirements
  • Protects identifying information collected in accordance with policies
  • Reports proven or suspected exposure or disclosure of personal information
  • Supports communication of IT security information to the unit
  • Represents their unit during IT security process & product evaluations
  • Attends monthly IT Security Liaison meetings
    • IT Security Liaisons meetings are held the second Thursday of each month from 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM in 165 Thompson Library, 1858 Neil Avenue Mall
  • Provides input and feedback on current and future IT security standards and initiatives
  • Assists OCIO Enterprise Security’s development and delivery of IT security job aids and training documents
  • Reports unit concerns and considerations related to IT security
  • Recommends faculty and staff experts to assist in creation and review of IT security instruments
  • Provides OCIO Enterprise Security with regular status information such as critical server status and vulnerability management follow-up
  • Acts as a key point of contact during IT security incidents involving the unit

 

IT Security Liaison Skill & Training Requirements

IT Security Liaison candidates should meet the following requirements to best represent the OSU IT Security practice and their unit:

  • Must hold a position within the unit empowered to address IT security related issues and concerns
  • Must complete the OSU Institutional Data Policy Training (Carmen course)
  • Must be able to commit an average of 2-4 hours a month to IT Security Liaison role
  • Should have technical IT security experience
  • Should be familiar with unit IT practices

Units are asked to appoint IT Security Liaisons with an expectation of a minimum two year term.  Replacement of the IT Security Liaison appointed by the unit IT Leaders should be timely and gaps introduced by personnel changes should be kept to a minimum to ensure the unit is adequately represented in security conversations at all times.

 

IT Security Liaisons (as of 02/01/2014)

College/Unit/Campus First Name Last Name E-mail
Athletics Troy Henley henley.4@osu.edu
College of Arts and Sciences David Sweasey sweasey.1@osu.edu
College of Dentistry Jeffery Trebonik trebonik.1@osu.edu
College of Education and Human Ecology Gordon Wells wells.336@osu.edu
College of Engineering Vincent Juodvalkis juodvalkis.1@osu.edu
College of Food Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
Jonathon Bruffy bruffy.1@osu.edu
College of Law Bradford Roesch roesch.1@osu.edu
College of Medicine Whitney Tapp tapp.9@osu.edu
College of Nursing Erik Yarberry yarberry.4@osu.edu
College of Optometry Daniel Roll roll.21@osu.edu
College of Pharmacy Casey Hoerig hoerig.4@osu.edu
College of Public Health Donald Shymanski shymanski.2@osu.edu
College of Social Work Andrea Whittington whittington.77@osu.edu
College of Veterinary Medicine Adam Britt britt.40@osu.edu
Enrollment Services and Undergraduate Education Ronald Salyers salyers.24@osu.edu
Fisher College of Business Brian Wilson wilson.643@osu.edu
Graduate School Douglas Brownfield brownfield.3@osu.edu
John Glenn School of Public Affairs Caleb Pulliam pulliam.13@osu.edu
Lima, Mansfield, Marion & Newark Campuses Gary Shadley
shadley.4@osu.edu
Lima, Mansfield, Marion & Newark Campuses Travis Elkins elkins.66@osu.edu
Office of Administration and Planning & Office of Business and Finance Gary Rine
rine.2@osu.edu
Office of Distance Education and eLearning Mike Groeniger groeniger.3@osu.edu
Office of Human Resources Brent Roberts roberts.73@osu.edu
Office of International Affairs Jerrod Kennedy kennedy.603@osu.edu
Office of Research Mark Beadles beadles.5@osu.edu
Office of Research Kevin Wohlever wohlever.1@osu.edu
Office of Student Life Lucas Damicone damicone.2@osu.edu
Office of the Chief Information Officer Jeremy Boeckman boeckman.30@osu.edu
Office of the Chief Information Officer Kandiah Lingan lingan.1@osu.edu
Office of University Development-Alumni Association Roland Kreml kreml.1@osu.edu
Ohio Agricultural Research and Development Center
Matthew
DeVore
devore.38@osu.edu
Ohio Agricultural Research and Development Center
Alden Sewell sewell.41@osu.edu
President-Trustees and Government-Legal-Academic Affairs Kenneth Cherrington cherrington.2@osu.edu
University Libraries Beth Warner warner.496@osu.edu
Wexner Center for the Arts vacant    
Wexner Medical Center Rick Kastelic kastelic.5@osu.edu
WOSU Stations Brian
Krieger krieger.48@osu.edu